Dodge's Takata Recalls

Dodge's Takata Recalls

Parts supplier, Takata, manufactured defective, shrapnel-hurling airbag inflators that need to be recalled. The issue affects 34 million+ vehicles spread out across 24 brands, making it one of the largest (and most dangerous) recalls in automotive history.

The propellent Takata used is exploding with such force that it’s ripping the inflators into tiny metal fragments and shooting them in the direction of vehicle occupants. To make matters worse, the inflators are exploding in low-speed accidents with very little impact.

Which Vehicles Have Been Recalled?

Make Model Years Limited To
Dodge Challenger 2008-2012 Zone A
    2008-2009 Zone B
    2008 Zone C
  Charger 2006-2012 Zone A
    2006-2009 Zone B
    2006-2008 Zone C
  Dakota 2005-2011 Zone A
    2005-2009 Zone B
    2005-2008 Zone C
  Durango 2004-2009 Zone A, B
    2004-2008 Zone C
  Magnum 2005-2008 Zone A, B, C
  Ram 1500 2003-2008  
  Ram 2500 2003-2009  
  Ram 3500 2003-2009  
  Ram 4500 2008-2010  
  Ram 5500 2008-2010  
  Sprinter 2500 2007-2008  
  Sprinter 3500 2007-2008  

Other FCA Takata recalls include Chrysler, Jeep, and Ram.

What are Zones?

Some Takata recalls are being broken down into what NHTSA calls “zones”. A zone is a group of states and territories where a vehicle was originally sold or registered at some point in time. A few notes about zones:

  1. A vehicle can be recalled in more than one zone.
  2. When no zone is defined, the recall was more widespread. Possibly internationally.
  3. If you find this all very confusing, you’re not alone my friend.

So, here we go:

  • Zone A: Alabama, California, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Louisiana, Mississippi, South Carolina, Texas, Puerto Rico, American Samoa, Guam, the Northern Mariana Islands (Saipan) and the U.S. Virgin Islands.
  • Zone B: Arizona, Arkansas, Delaware, District of Columbia, Illinois, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Maryland, Missouri, Nebraska, Nevada, New Jersey, New Mexico, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, Tennessee, Virginia and West Virginia.
  • Zone C: Alaska, Colorado, Connecticut, Idaho, Iowa, Maine, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Montana, New Hampshire, New York, North Dakota, Oregon, Rhode Island, South Dakota, Utah, Vermont, Washington, Wisconsin and Wyoming.

Take Action

Takata inflators have been linked to 11 deaths in the USA, so far.

Owners of these vehicles are urged to call the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) safety hotline at 1-888-327-4236 or lookup your VIN (vehicle identification number).

“Consumers that are uncertain whether their vehicle is impacted by the Takata recalls, or any other recall, can contact their manufacturer’s website to search, by their vehicle identification number (VIN) to confirm whether their individual vehicle has an open recall that needs to be addressed.”

Takata News and Notes

Share Your Complaint

Add Your Complaint

Join thousands of frustrated car owners who have voiced their opinion and notified other consumers of issues at

Find us on Facebook

Dodge Customer Center

P.O. Box 21-8004 Auburn Hills MI 48321-8004